Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > Alcoholism Information > Alcoholism
Reload this Page >

22 with 2nd OWI could really use any advice or words of wisdom :)

Notices

Old 12-06-2012, 12:09 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hello there, this is my first post as I am new to the forums. I am currently going through the process of paying for my 2nd owi and have recently come to terms with the fact that I am, for a lack of a better term, an alcoholic. I'm a full time student, and just lost my job due to the fact that I can no longer drive (previously a delivery driver; only worked 9 hours a week). By next fall, if everything goes according to plan, I should have my associates degree. Everything just hit me today as I got my interlock system installed and discovered how horrible and embarrassing it is to even turn on my vehicle. Luckily I still live at home and currently my parents are paying for all the charges but this doesn't make me feel any better; if anything it makes me feel worse. I have 140 dollars to my name, and now no longer do I even have a job. I have no idea how I am going to get any money to pay all of this off. Looking forward, it seems as if my life is already over before it could even begin. My grades are being heavily influenced, as well as my mental stability by the impact that this second OWI is having on my life. I go to the gym as often as I can, 2-3 times a week and have a pretty good grasp on the health aspect of things (previously lost 140 pounds) although gained 40 on my road to alcoholism. I recently quit drinking indefinitely, I broke things off with a girl I was seeing that was a bigger alcoholic than me. I would consider myself a weekend binge drinker, although this was escalating to be more until I decided this past weekend to quit for good. I'm now coming up on my second sober weekend. Last week was the first weekend that I did not drink at all. To add to my frustration, I recently began dating another girl. T