Notices

Sponsors

Old 09-09-2012, 11:57 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Sponsors

Hi guys, so I've been going to AA meetings and am slowly getting warmed up. I'm pretty shy but know what needs to be done, so I keep on coming back. I try to talk to people after the meeting which has been good.

My next on the to do list is to get a sponsor. I have no idea how to do this as I don't want to ask anyone to be my sponsor yet. The idea of a sponsor is so personal that it seems like going on a date with someone! Ahhh rambling. Anyway, can anyone share with me how you found a sponsor? Also, how is it done? You just go up to people and ask them? Or is there a list you choose from volunteers? I just dont know where to go from here, but I do need a sponsor. Im new at this whole AA thing.

Any experience/info would be so appreciated.
Old 09-09-2012, 12:03 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

What helped me was to talk to people I heard share that I could identify with. What you could do is go to coffee after a meeting with someone you think could be a good fit, and just chat. Get to know the person a little.

That is what I did. Then, when I had to ask her to be my sponsor (which terrified me!), she said "I thought i already was!".

Some meetings also have a list of people looking for sponsees. Not sure how well that works only because I think it is important to be a good fit. But you can always start there.
Old 09-09-2012, 12:08 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by pipparina View Post
What helped me was to talk to people I heard share that I could identify with. What you could do is go to coffee after a meeting with someone you think could be a good fit, and just chat. Get to know the person a little.

That is what I did. Then, when I had to ask her to be my sponsor (which terrified me!), she said "I thought i already was!".