Notices

considering unassisted detox

Old 01-15-2012, 02:34 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

considering unassisted detox

I am new to Sober Recovery but I have the same sad story and questions.

I am a drunk and realize its time to stop for my sanity, health and for economical reasons. I am not in denial, I realize it has ruined my future but yet I continue with this crutch. I have been drinking to excess for over 20 years. Over the last 15 years I have had only 1 day where I did not drink to drunkeness. Although "drunkeness" for me just means the ability to fall asleep rather than your standard symptoms.

I am considering trying a detox or attempt to taper off alcohol. I have never attempted to curtail my drinking. My ingestion is fairly large, over a gallon of liquor and a few cases of beer a week. Im scared by what I am reading in these forums about getting sick.

Unfortunetly I do not have the finacial means to go into treatment/detox or see a doctor. I have not seen a doctor in my adult life and have no desire to start now.

So what I am asking, am I fooling myself thinking I can do this myself without getting sick or without medical attention?

Thanks in advance for any thoughts.
Old 01-15-2012, 02:56 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by insobriety View Post
I have not seen a doctor in my adult life and have no desire to start now.
Detox on your own and there's a 50/50 chance your desires to remain doctor-less won't matter. Either a doctor or a coroner will see you if you have a heart attack, stroke, or any of the millions of other things that can happen which regularly kill so many alcoholics who stubbornly come down off a lifetime habit alone.

You surely have an ER somewhere near by, yes? Go. Full stop. Don't play with fire. Tell them what you are doing. At the very least they can monitor your heart rate and blood pressure and provide you with medications and supplements that a body desperately needs when alcohol is abruptly taken away.