Notices

What Does "Hitting Bottom" Really Mean?

Old 07-09-2011, 01:25 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
1000 Post Club

What Does "Hitting Bottom" Really Mean?

After losing my long battle against the Social Security Administration I am now preparing to fight the Secretary Of State for my Drivers License. I had to get a DUI evaluation and was asked, "do you feel you have hit a bottom?" I was surprised by this question and answered yes and no. Let me explain. I was a chronic drunk driver who did not learn from from first DUI. It took a total of 3 and several car accidents to finally get the message that drunk driving is dangerous. I answered I hit bottom in driving and stopped driving and moved to the city. I continued to drink/drug to the point of brief homelessness where I was sleeping in an alley in downtown Chicago living with rats (the size of small cats!) Thankfully, I got accepted into a housing program & got my own place. Sadly, homelessness was not my bottom either. My bottom is when I am 6feet in the ground dead from the disease of addiction. The DUI evaluator was kinda shocked by this response because I was brutally honest. The truth is I punished myself more than the Secretary of State or criminal justice system could ever punish me. Getting sick & tired of being sick & tired is an AA phrase that can perhaps sum up why I'm sober today. What does "hitting bottom" mean to you? Do you even like that term? I'm curious what others think. Thanks
Old 07-09-2011, 01:45 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Justfor1, the older you get the worse the withdrawal periods get, I kind of think our bodies eventually run out of the ability to go through the detox periods. You just reach a point where you finally throw in the towel, the brief relief that the alcohol provides is no longer worth the living hell that's sure to follow. Throw anxiety/depression into the mix and alcohol is like trying to put out a fire with gasoline.
Old 07-09-2011, 01:52 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
1000 Post Club