Notices

giving in to the bottle

Old 05-23-2011, 02:30 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

giving in to the bottle

hello,

im new to this but heres my story... i am a 23yr old active alcoholic flurting with the idea of trying to quit drinking again. i have always been a party goer but was always able to manage my drinking. that was until a year ago. i started a new job that i travel alot, work tons of hours, very hard on my body. i ended up with bad back problems that the doctors cannot seem to find answers for. this caused me to bury my pain with drinking (about 1/2-1 fifth of burbon per nite). ive tried quitting twice, only to give in to the hellatious withdrawls. im not shure if i can find a way to beat this up hill battle im fighting with work, drinking, living out of town.... anyone have any ideas
Old 05-23-2011, 02:38 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome Yooper06,

If you are having problems with withdrawal I would suggest talking to your doctor first. They can help get you through the withdrawal safely and hopefully more comfortably. If you are committed to quitting you have found the right place here, there is lots of great information and support available here.
Old 05-23-2011, 02:41 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

See a Doctor. They can monitor your withdrawal and if need be, prescribe something to make the withdrawal a bit easier.
Old 05-23-2011, 02:43 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Oh, here is some great information on what people go through during withdrawal.

http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...at-we-did.html

Good luck and please take care of yourself.
Old 05-23-2011, 04:01 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Yooper

Welcome!

I agree with the advice to see a Dr for detox purposes.

I also urge you to keep looking for Dr, physios, or whatever who can help you with your back.

Like you I have chronic pain conditions - I tried to manage them with alcohol as well - you'd be much wiser to keep trying to find a Dr or therapist who can help.