Notices

Time to start posting...i'm ready!

Old 04-24-2011, 09:33 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
former walking pharmacy

Time to start posting...i'm ready!

(I apologize in advance if this is long/rambly. I have never had a chance or the courage to share my story with anyone.)

Hi everyone.
My name is Mike and i'm an alcoholic and a drug addict. I'm 23 years old. I've been dealing with addiction/alcoholism since I was about 18 or 19, but looking back I can see the patterns were there from about 14.
I started smoking weed around that time, and it was just a social thing throughout high school (though my junior/senior year it started to become a daily thing). I stayed away from alcohol (for the most part) because of a passion for bodybuilding/fitness/nutrition. I experimented with some other drugs (cocaine, a couple hallucinogens, some pills), but never had any serious habits.
Then I graduated HS, and moved down to North Carolina (i'm from Connecticut) with my mother. Here, I met two older guys who I became very good friends with who 'taught' me to drink. This is where my alcoholism really kicked off. I stayed in NC for 3 years, and those three years were just a downward spiral of less and less ambition and more and more drugs and booze. I would go on amphetamine binges and then drink myself into a coma on the comedown, pop painkillers like there was no tomorrow, snort cocaine on the weekends, all the while smoking copious amounts of weed. I was drinking at work, drinking in the mornings...I just didn't give a ****. I was working as a trainer at Gold's Gym and remember popping ecstacy tablets before going in to train a client. Yeah...it was insanity.