Notices

Sober 1 year .. on June 22

Old 06-06-2010, 11:20 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Sober 1 year .. on June 22

This is not my first time in recovery. I have been struggling with alcoholism since I was 21. I am now 36. Six months ago I was laid off from my job of 7 years. I am now having a hard time finding work due to 2 DUI charges - one was in 2002 and one was 2009. I realize that I made bad choices in the past, especially while being under the influence, but I don't think that what I did in the past should hurt my job search - but it has. I have a bachelors degree and student loans and other bills that are piling up as unemployment does not cover my expenses. If anyone has any suggestions or comments please feel free to reply to my post.

I have read on other sites that a lot of people feel that those with DUI's or arrests on their record. But being punished for life? Especially when you are in recovery and doing the best you can to live an honest life. I have heard that some people that are in drug court can get their records expunged. This is not true for DUI's. Why is this? Yes, we need to learn a hard lesson but without work, I will be living off of the state. This is just crazy. Thanks for listening...
Sobernjgirl
Old 06-06-2010, 12:14 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Sorry

I know you are frustrated. I wish I had advice for you. Some occupations like sales are a little more forgiving or past indiscretions. I guess also there is like a huge stigma on DUI's. Are there any state employment agencies that you could work with. It may be better if the employer knows upfront that they are hiring someone with a criminal record.

Just a thought
Old 06-06-2010, 12:21 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Are you volunteering this info on your DUI record? If so, don't. I paid $60 to have a background check run on myself, from the leading criminal background checking firm in the country. None of my 3 arrests (2 convictions) showed up. I may just be lucky I guess.