Notices

hello

Old 12-05-2007, 05:16 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

hello

hey all , i'm new to this stuff here, i recently quit drinking, bascially spent my 20's drunk, i decided to quit, bleh its tough, (forgive me my thoughts are all over the place) i had quit drinking before for about a week at a time never had any problems... well i was done for sure this time.. then along came saturday, my heart started racing , i was anxious, sweating , i just thought i was getting sick ...i spent 2 days like that then went to see my doctor, who said i was having withdrawals so he prescribed ativan i think that is what it is , i went to work fine on tuesday felt like my old self, but today, i was really really anxious... i had to go home at noon...called the doc. he told me to take another ativan and noon i did ... got real noxious and basically fell asleep.. bleh i'm all over the place. what i'm trying to say is i am a alcoholic starting my recovery... its a wild roller coaster of emotions and heartbeats... /cheerss....
Old 12-05-2007, 06:20 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome. I strongly recommend a support group of some kind as you need something to occupy your time and other people to relate to. AA is an excellent fellowship that you should try; it really helps me. If that doesn't work out there are alternatives but others here are more qualified to inform you about them.

I look forward to reading your posts,
Shaneo.
Old 12-05-2007, 06:38 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Forward we go...side by side-Rest In Peace

Hi and Welcome to SR!

Here is a thread full of our experiences with withdrawal
Please click on the link below

http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...at-we-did.html

It's good you checked with your doctor...excellent idea.

You are definately on the right path
and Yes! I too think AA is immensley helpful.

Please do let us know how you are doing
We understand because we have been just where you are.
Old 12-05-2007, 06:43 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Not the center of the Universe