Notices

Advice on my alcohol withdrawal

Old 11-01-2007, 03:42 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Advice on my alcohol withdrawal

Hi.

Could someone please give me advice on how long the physical symptoms of alcohol withdrawal lasts for.

I have just turned 24 years old and am on day 3 of my detox. I have been drinking for about 6 months, a bottle of burbon every night. I decided to give it up because i have put on so much weight from drinking, i don't enjoy it anymore, it is ruining my life, and most importantly it started damaging my liver and i have been experiencing bleeding from places i shouldn't be. It scared me when my doctor told me my liver was failing, but i was selfish and continued drinking for a while. But i finally stopped am on day/night 3 and still not feeling so good. My head is killing me, my body is trembling, i have the sweats, i'm feeling very nauseous and i have diarrhoea. There are many other effects it is having, anxiety is at it's peak. But i was diagnosed with BPD, Agoraphobia, Panic Disorder etc 3 years ago so that part of it is nothing new. I am most concerned about how long the nausea and diarrhoea lasts for? It's been 3 days now so i'm hoping it wont be much more longer??? Can someone please give me some advice on this, i'd really appreciate it.

I have been in Rehab before, but my drug of choice back then was Cannabis. However i have been off that for 3 and a half years now and very proud of myself. But in the end i kinda just substituted with the grog. Both detoxes are as hard as each other but kinda different with some of the symptoms. I just can't wait to feel well again and have the motivation to meet up with my friends without any embarrassing experiences ie. nausea and diarrhoea. I haven't left my unit yet.

Any advice would be much appreciated.
Old 11-01-2007, 04:02 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
same planet...different world

hi -
Welcome!

What does your doctor say about your symptoms?