Notices

Resentment towards aa

Old 09-20-2019, 06:30 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Resentment towards aa

Lately I’ve been thinking about getting back into the rooms( yes I’m sober) . Been struggling lately, not in the sense of wanted to pick up but with my emotions. I’m not good at letting people know what’s going on in me , I have a hard time expessing myself. It’s almost impossible to try to get myself to a meeting without talking myself out of it. When I was younger I went to A.A., had a sponsor, who half asses worked the steps with me, he was more concerned with me going to meetings, sitting up front and sharing. What he didn’t understand what I realize now is I had social anxiety, I was a mess inside, I dreaded going to meetings. He thought I was just a tough case , but didn’t realize he was stressing me out. To cut this short my anxiety is keeping me from going to meetings and my resentment, but I love the whole concept of the fellowship. Like I said I suck at sharing but I’m not sure how I can stop talking myself out of going to meetings. And please don’t tell me I’ll drink if I don’t go because the obsession was lifted out of me.
Old 09-20-2019, 09:46 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
~sb

I'm confused as to what your resentment is except that it's against yourself or that one sponsor. It's YOUR recovery. You don't have to stay with a sponsor who isn't working the steps first (the program of recovery IS the steps).

Ask the universe to help you get through the door, grab a coffee and sit down and listen.

Find a sponsor who can guide you through the steps.

Keep moving forward!!!!!
Old 09-20-2019, 02:32 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Like I said I suck at sharing but I’m not sure how I can stop talking myself out of going to meetings.

Daily Reflections

LOVE AND FEAR AS OPPOSITES

All these failings generate fear, a soul-sickness in its own right.
TWELVE STEPS AND TWELVE TRADITIONS, p. 49

"Fear knocked at the door; faith answered; no one was there." I