Notices

Back at Work

Old 09-08-2012, 03:33 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Back at Work

I'm a teacher and returned back to work this week. I was nervous because I'm early in recovery and work (or how I handled it) was a major factor in the progression of my disease.

Some unpleasant situations came up, things that would have set me into panic attacks, caused me to obsess and lose sleep....and drink. The atmosphere in my building is not positive and is toxic at times (it's not a good time to be an educator in my state and specifically my district).

I felt less centered than I have been. But yesterday afternoon, I reviewed my week and was filled with joy. For the first time in years, maybe ever, I truly love my job and enjoy it. I brought what I'm learning in AA and my higher power with me. It's liberating to know that I don't control anything other than my own actions and behavior. (I remind myself this when dealing with my mother as well).

I am so grateful for what AA has brought to my life beyond not drinking. I am so grateful that I'm discovering that it works in all aspects of my life.
Old 09-08-2012, 05:01 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Kelltic, I am in exactly the same place as you. A teacher, returning to work, realising how my perceptions of everything have changed.
I have an hours drive to my school, and I've found praying on those car journeys, connecting to my HP has radically changed how I view and deal with my daily stresses.
It is truly a miracle x
Old 09-08-2012, 05:34 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Coing out of our safe cocoon can be scary. I've found interacting with people, some of whom I just don't like, really tough. It can do a number on my serenity. So I pray and ask God to help me through it.

A great piece of advice I was given early in my sobriety was "restraint of pen and tongue". That helped me not shoot off those nasty emails when someone triggered me. I still live by it as best I can,14 years later.