Too Many Programs!!??

Old 01-28-2013, 01:22 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question Too Many Programs!!??

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to this message board.

I've been regularly attending ACA for over a year now, but I'm in a lot of confusion about my whole recovery process & would love some input.

I have 1.5 years "smobriety" in NicA (nicotine is by far my primary addiction). Once I stopped smoking, all hell broke lose emotionally, mentally, spiritually. Suddenly, I was stuck with myself and my life without an escape hatch. Basically, I discovered I didn't have any boundaries - not even with myself! I didn't know how to handle life, how to decide what's right for me, how to handle conflict, how to handle problems, how to do relationships. Because I was willing to go to any lengths to maintain my recovery, I knew I needed to address these issues.

Over the years, I'd been to a meeting or two of CoDA, Alanon, and ACA here and there, but never regularly, so I revisited all of them. This time however, I decided on ACA as my primary program (I go 2-3 times a week).

Here's the problem though - I really don't know which program(s) would be the best fit for me. I stopped going to NicA because it's a very soft & casual program (unlike AA, NA, etc) & I needed emotional sobriety. My experience so far:

My self-esteem issues, isolation, anxiety, sense of brokenness, "hole in the soul" is why I attend ACA - to recover ME, my inner child, my wholeness.