Anyone used acamprosate before?

Old 11-11-2016, 03:00 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Anyone used acamprosate before?

I'm not sure if this is the right forum to post this but I was just given acamprosate today. The way the doctor explained it was, it would stop the high I get from alcohol consumption, thus stopping the need to use alcohol to deal with depression. Has anyone else used it here and what was the experience like?
Old 11-11-2016, 03:46 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

It's known as Campral in other places. I have no experience of it tho.

D
Old 11-11-2016, 04:04 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Yep. I am going on 9 mos sober and I take it 3x daily as part of my psych-prescribed medicine regimen. We have me on it as an anti-craving med, and it is a maintenance drug for me. I have had zero physical cravings; I was extremely ill when I quit drinking in Feb and at the beginning, just trying to come back to life as I describe it. Note- I take the generic, acamprosate; I refer to it as Campral and consider them interchangeable but my experience is technically on the generic.

I do not know if my possibly rare experience with cravings is largely due to Campral and I don't care. If I need to take it forever, ok by me. This is a drug that in my understanding does not have (serious) side effects and I haven't experienced any I can attribute directly to it, only perhaps the positive sides; note, again, this is just one drug I take.

I have taken it since I quit drinking, and I also took Antabuse for the first 90 days. That is a more serious drug, as I would describe it, as there is potentially fatal effects if you mess around with the daily prescribed dose. It is a drug meant to prevent you from drinking in the first place, because you will get sick if you do, possibly violently. I toyed with it in the past as some people do (many alcoholics do) by skipping doses, even taking it while drinking etc; I was lucky not to face more than moderate seizures and cramping one time.