Notices

Clean and prescribed Ativan ?

Old 04-04-2013, 02:59 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Clean and prescribed Ativan ?

Hi there,
It's been a while since I last posted on this forum. So I'll sorta recap. I quit drinking and snorting coke around end if Jan, beginning if Feb this year. Been clean since.
For the last few weeks I've been suffering from panic attacks or the feeling that I'm about to have one. They can happen anywhere, anytime for no particular reason. I've had them in the past too but they were few and far between up till now. I feel anxious in general almost all the time.
Anyway, I went to my family doctor and he prescribed me Ativan to take on an "as needed" basis. The prescription is only for 10 pills.
I've never used Ativan before and I'm a little nervous. Should I be worried about taking this given my history of addiction? I know there's risk of dependency, but given the small amount of them and my doctors assurance that he doesn't "intend to turn me into a pill junkie" (he's a jokes-around-with-you type doctor), am I worrying too much?
Also, how should i expect this to make me feel if I do take it?
I've cut out drinking, drugs, and caffeine. I'm exercising, eating right, sleeping well, meditating, praying...I'm about out of options here for relief
Old 04-04-2013, 10:55 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I have delt with debilitating panic attacks myself since coming off opiates. I know you were doing booze and coke, but panic attacks are insane and hard to truly describe to someone who has never had one.