Old 06-02-2015, 07:31 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question Newbie

Hi All,

I am not new to social forums although I am new to substance abuse.

I'll give you a little back ground. I was married for 14 years (1998-2012). After the first affair we stayed together, after the second affair, which lasted 2 years, it took awhile but we are no longer together. I used alot of forums and web sites to stay sane during the "trying to work it out" stage.
After a year of getting my S*&% together...taking care of myself....my kids...etc...I finally thought I was past the bitterness enough to try dating.

Thats where my addict bf comes in. We met in 2013. He was open and upfront about his issues. He had a work injury and became addicted to Oxy. He hit rock bottom, went to a 90 day rehab out west and got clean. At the time he was a recovering addict for 2 years. We were off and on and very casual for about a year. By choice. Him an addict, me recovering from a narcassistic ex. we took it slow.

We became bf/gf last year. Feb '14.

He very recently had a relapse. He got out of detox on saturday. He is signed up for a program but there are no beds until August. He says he knows what he needs to do. He stopped working the program. Had another work injury. Refused narcotics until it became too much and finally started usig percs. He says he knew right away that he had to stop. 2 cash advances, an empty bank account and 2 1/2 months later is when he came forward.

I've read alot of..... didn't cause....can't control....can't cure.....
It definitely hits a cord.
With my ex and the cheating....the degrading...the second guessing myself....it took alot to get over....to regain some self esteem. And I'm a work in progress.

I'm hear to read and listen and learn. I can't tell you where I'll be in a year. But I come first. I want to be supportive. I want to be helpful. I don't want to be walked on. I don't want to feel guilty.
Old 06-02-2015, 04:04 PM
  # 2 (permalink)