Notices

Early Sober Member - Issues with Step 3

Old 08-04-2014, 02:06 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Early Sober Member - Issues with Step 3

Hi All, I'm fairly new to recovery (100 days today), and as a lifelong Athiest, often find it difficult to transpose the word 'god' into something tangible. Quite surprisingly, the whole AA concept is not as rigid on 'god' as I expected - something that kept me away for a long time. However I do go to meetings that are known to be more liberal, although there are always the evangelical types. I'm OK with that if it works for them.

To date, to resolve a meaningful 'Higher Power', I have viewed the Fellowship collective as the closest thing to a HP as I'm likely to get . This is a genuine gratitude, and I am starting to forge some solid acquaintances.

I have a sponsor who, although is not a Christian, does like to see the Big Book as Gospel (for wont of a better term). We are doing the steps. Step 1 was a no-brainer, as I had been living with this thought long before I got sober, and Step two was also of no impediment for me. However we talked about Step 3 yesterday, and I'm starting to feel this this is where it's about to come to an end.

Quite simply, I cannot see how this step can possibly be relevant to a 'godless' person. If my interpretation of god, for the sake of being involved, is my Higher Power of the Fellowship (or 'Group Of Drunks' as the oft-repeated sloganeering goes), I cannot possibly see how turning my will and my life over to other mortal humans is logical.

As Alcoholics, we are not rendered forever incapable of looking after ourselves.

We do not, and should not, enter into a mindset that absolves us from all personal responsibility. For me, I could not have stayed sober without the inclusion of the Fellowship into my life, but to give absolute control over to the collective is absurd.