Notices

Grudgingly going to a meeting

Old 09-19-2005, 08:28 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
No more hostages

Grudgingly going to a meeting

I have some questions. I have some issues..(duh).
I have been attending AA since July of 2004, and though I really respect the principals AA tries to teach to us, I feel as though I am kind of 'not getting it' anymore, as if I am stuck. I hold no ill feelings towards AA, because I have gotten so much from the 12 steps, and some of the people, but I just feel like it isn't 'for me'. I guess I need some advice here on what to do; what other options do I have? I have been to NA, but those are the only recovery programs I know of...12 steps. I took the steps and worked them as thoroughly as I could. I was going to as many meetings as possible and calling people each day. It's almost as if I got burned out and now am unable to relight that fire.
I have seen some posts about other forms of recovery and I guess I would just like some input before I lose my mind. I am tired of fretting over it and too scared to tell the friends I have in AA who seem to think there is no other way.
Thanks.
Old 09-19-2005, 08:52 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
On The Bus

The Pink Cloud Is Gone(Happens To All Of Us)

Originally Posted by amymarie
I am tired of fretting over it and too scared to tell the friends I have in AA who seem to think there is no other way.
Tell them anyways.

A couple of thoughts, alcohol is cunning, baffling, powerful and patient.

I think when the newness of any relationship wears off, things tend to get a little dull and boring.

The beauty of the AA program is you can renew yourself and throw yourself back into the program at any given time.

All we need is the willingness..........

Be very careful of self will, is IMO a killer.

Are you better off today then when you came into the program??

Perhaps you need to speak at a speaker meeting?

Perhaps work with another alcoholic?