Notices

DoTherapistsHaveToReportSuicideThoughts?

Old 06-07-2005, 05:07 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

DoTherapistsHaveToReportSuicideThoughts?

1. If you decide to tell your therapist that you've been having thoughts of suicide are they legally mandated to report that to authorities? It seems as though that would be a negative way to practice because it might cause patients to not report those thoughts.
2. Is there a general rule of thumb for how therapists handle this?

Does anyone know?

Last edited by Chestnut; 06-07-2005 at 05:11 PM. Reason: Left something out of post.
Old 06-07-2005, 05:24 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
To Life!

(((Chestnut)))
Hang on. Someone will be here soon with an answer.
I am a teacher. I know I am required by law to report if I am aware of an intent to harm the self or another. Or if a student is in danger.
I am not sure about the therapist.
But, Chestnut, why WOULDN"T you tell your therapist? Clearly you go to him/her for help. There is nothing worth harming yourself over. You ARE a beautiful child of G*D; you deserve all that is good...
Shalom!
Old 06-07-2005, 05:38 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
In Memory Of

I dont believe so.Maybe you could ask the therapist on this site.
Old 06-07-2005, 05:47 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Thanks for your kind words. I'm not presently considering it, it's just an informational question. But thanks for caring.

The reason I'd think you wouldn't report it to your therapist would be a fear of finding yourself hospitalized against your will.

It seems to be a catch-22 situation. Discussing it with a therapist could definitely be a huge help. But reporting those thoughts, regardless of what your actual committment level to it might be, only to find yourself forced into a hospital could be enough to keep people from ever bringing it up to their therapist.