Do I pursue him or not?

Old 03-10-2005, 01:55 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Do I pursue him or not?

Hi everyone,

I'm very new to all of this and not sure if I should even be here. I'm not actually in a real relationship with an AH/CA, but am considering it. I met him a year and a half ago. I just had a very strong feeling when I laid eyes on him that we should be together, that it was important for him to be in my life. My instincts and intuitions are usually dead on and I trust them completely. I tried on several occasions to get together with him. I sent him letters, called, but I had no success until one year later. We went out for dinner and drinks a few times and had a wonderful time. He promised to call, but didn't. He was having major financial problems and was very depressed. I thought he went back to work. A month later I finally got a hold of him and found out that he wasn't doing anything. Just depressed. I tried to release him from my life, move on to someone else, but that feeling I had just stayed with me. 2 months later I call again, the day he got of rehab. He told me that he went through a very hard few years and that I was a light in his life. He had been drinking heavily for over 20 years and using drugs for at least 10. I understand his need for not wanting to tell me the truth about his addictions to alcohol and cocaine/crack before he went into recovery. He was embarrassed and ashamed. He was now living back with his parents who are both alcoholics. His mom is sober and helping him out, his dad is not, but working out of town. I think him having to ask for help is very difficult for him and living back with your parents at the age of 36 is also hard. I called him a week later and he was doing well. Just tired from all the newness of his programs. 2 weeks later, I went to his hometown to visit him. We talked of his recovery and he seemed well. We spent the night together. The next morning he was a little irritable with me. He had not slept at all a