Horrible weekend with the alcoholic boyfriend

Old 03-27-2023, 01:00 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Horrible weekend with the alcoholic boyfriend

Many Mondays I spend recovering quietly at home after a horrendous weekend with my alcoholic boyfriend (we live together). This weekend was one of the worst in a while. We went to visit his alcoholic mother and she had her siblings visiting. Many are former drug addicts. I did not want to go and my boyfriend bullied me into going. He also got drunk the night before and couldn't drive there himself, so he forced me to do it. I need help setting and enforcing boundaries. I cannot go on like this. Another thing he often does on the weekends is ask me to go on a walk with him and his dog at the park. We leave the house and I think it will just be the walk, but it turns into an entire day with him stopping for alcohol. He embarrasses me in public a lot with the way he acts, the things he says. I cannot do this much longer.

I got my master's degree recently and have been offered a well paying job with good benefits. I'm unsure if I want to take it and one of the reasons is because the days coincide with the same days he works. So that means I would never have a day to myself away from him. That is the only way i have been able to maintain my sanity at this point.