Notices

Scared and Lost

Old 12-03-2004, 07:38 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Cindy

Red face Scared and Lost

I am new to this whole 12 step program. I was told about this sight by a drug counselor I am currently seeing. As part of my recovery process she has advised me to attend any 12 step meetings...I am experiencing a great hardship in attending them in person. I have a very difficult time speaking in public, therefore she has suggested this web sight. Any help and or advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Cindy
Old 12-03-2004, 07:44 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi Cindy and welcome; My name is Diana and I am a recovering alcoholic/addict.
Your councillor was smart to direct you here. You will find a great support system here.

We look forward to your posts of anything you feel concerned about or any questions you may have.

My thoughts and prayers go out to you
Love Diana
Old 12-03-2004, 08:54 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Ama

Dear Cindy,

Great to hear from you!!!! Well - I am in the same boat. This very night I went to a meeting - a lovely peaceful place. I determined to share because I find it so very very difficult too. But I have been posting here on SR for a few weeks and your councellor is right I think because I have been writing in posts those things I find hard to say. It has helped so very much and of course the gifts of friendship and understanding on this site has truely warmed my heart!

So - back to tonights meeting. Well I did share - and opened by saying that I didnt know what to say but that I knew I had to speak as that in itself was working on my Acceptance for my disease. I rambled all over the place but found that talking out loud was very calming after a minute or so. After the meeting I got hugs etc and I feel really good tonight after it I must say. In my case the resistance to share has been part of my resistance to recovery you see and true Acceptance!