Notices

164 Days Today- And Almost Threw It Away

Old 01-14-2020, 08:16 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
RPM

164 Days Today- And Almost Threw It Away

I came so close to rationalizing a relapse. I had a weekend golf trip planned with my friends, away from my wife and children. I’ve been coasting for over five months but for the week leading up to the trip all I could think about was “I’ll be away from my family they won’t see me drunk, I can have a good time with the guys for a couple days and nobody is impacted, why not make an exception?” Then that got me thinking “well if I’m going to plan a relapse a week from now why not plan a couple happy hours this week with some friends I haven’t gone out with for a while?”

I literally had to talk out loud to myself that just because my family won’t see me drunk doesn’t mean my actions don’t have consequences for them. A DUI in a different state would have consequences, the impact on my health from drinking a fifth a day on the trip could have consequences. The coming home having no sober time under my belt and rationalizing a couple more weeks or months before I stop again would have consequences.
I’ve always viewed “one day at a time” as a useless cliche until now. Once I realized I didn’t have to make a decision a week out before my trip whether I would drink or not on the trip but instead just made the decision not to drink NOW made it so easy. Then I made that same decision each day on the trip.
And BTW - I had a really fun, sober trip!
Old 01-14-2020, 08:58 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
under new management

Old 01-14-2020, 09:11 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
AA Member

Old 01-14-2020, 09:11 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Brilliant! I live alone and I could drink whenever I want to with nobody knowing (at first) but it's just not the point. I'm not drinking for loads of other reasons apart from other people knowing. Glad you had a great trip!
Old 01-14-2020, 11:53 AM
  # 5 (permalink)