Feeling Normal

Old 11-14-2004, 02:12 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Feeling Normal

I have been reading here for a couple weeks and it has helped me a lot. My question is to those of you who have been working the program for awhile, do you ever feel like a "normal" person again?
Old 11-14-2004, 02:31 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Ann
Nature Girl

Gee, Starr, I can't say, but I've only been working my program about 10 years. Actually, I feel normal for me, and that's all that matters. You see, that's how this program works, it is about us doing what is right for us and feeling good about our lives again.

Welcome.

Hugs
Ann
Old 11-14-2004, 03:29 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Seriously, what do you mean by normal? It could mean different things to different people.
Old 11-14-2004, 03:52 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
No More Mrs. Nice Guy

Starr,

I have been working a program for a little over 6 years. Fortunately , I did NOT go back to "normal" because it is not a good place. Normal for me was a place of pain and uncertainty.

Each and every day is better for me. Sometimes I don't see how far I've come until I can look back at where I was vs where I am.

NORMAL? As I have heard they say in AA, Normal is just a setting on the washing machine.

Hugs and Love
Barb
Old 11-14-2004, 06:39 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

I have no idea what normal is. My life is a disaster because of his drinking and abuse. I have all the ability in the world to get out, but I just don't. Is that normal? I just know to keep some sanity, I have to come here.
Old 11-14-2004, 07:07 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  
No More Mrs. Nice Guy

TTmom,

It took me a LONG time to get out. Remember the 3 A's - Awareness, Acceptance, Action. It's important that you spend the right amount of time in the first two, before you take any action.

Hugs and love
Barb
Old 11-15-2004, 05:59 AM
  # 7 (permalink)  
Radar

"The only normal people are the one's you don't know very well."

Alfred Adler
Old 11-15-2004, 07:07 AM
  # 8 (permalink)