Notices

Why are you sober?

Old 05-08-2018, 01:18 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Why are you sober?

Hi everyone.

I noticed that alot of people have different ways of dealing with Alcohol Addiction and abuse. I wanted to see what peoples plans and strategies were in a few short dot points. What is your vision or your dream?

Also, write down what will test your sobriety skills in the future, what are you cautious about and what are you anticipating. ill start.

even though iam very early, i at least know what iam enjoying right now in my life to distract me from alcohol.

Days sober - 9

My vision - i have been drinking for 12 years, thats most of my twenties and younger. I don't want to be abnormal anymore.

Ways to keep Sober, whats working for me at this moment

- Finding as many non drinking social events in the evening as possible, too also train my social skills to their best ability and make new friends (ive always been abit of recluse).

- exercising, i have set a goal ( common method)

- playing my old life in my head. I could be back at this table with all my bottles any time i want - i dont want it.

- Enthusiasm and hope for my new life, the new people i will meet, the physical and mental changes i will gain and live a better life, and to gain back my respect amongst the people that know me as an idiot alcoholic.

- i know where i will be if i have a drink.

What worries me

- my attitude towards drinking in a few months when the fear of the old life has worn off - iam worried of the "one wont hurt, its been X months"

- the party vibes at a wedding or birthday party.

- sneakily forming new drinking habits to justify "it is not like your old life"

- telling a future partner about this problem, what her reaction will be.

In conclusion - i am tackling very early sobriety with those mentioned strategies, its not a huge list, but at least i know that i WANT IT, there is no more excuses.