Notices

It's obvious I need help. That is clear to me today.

Old 02-18-2018, 11:22 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

It's obvious I need help. That is clear to me today.

I'm new to this, but I'm just not sure where to turn and I'm open to anything at this point. My drinking cost me the best and healthiest relationship I have last night. There's no excuse for it. I simply cannot control my drinking, no matter how many internal checks and balances I put on myself. I always tell myself I can control it, but it's clear now that I cannot. It's cost me the love of my life, and I am just so scared that I will not be able to mend that relationship. I know if I don't fix this I will regret ruining this chance at an amazing life. That will always weight heavily on me.
Old 02-18-2018, 11:45 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Your in the right place. Lots of help and support available here.
Sounds like you have something worth fighting for and the best fight is a sober one.
Old 02-18-2018, 11:47 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

This place is a really nice place. Everyone is supportive and encouraging. You can beat this
Old 02-18-2018, 11:56 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I hear you. I know what you are saying and I have been there many many times.

Stick around the forum and see if something clicks with you. Just know you are not alone and every single one of us has felt what you are feeling to one degree or another.

You can recover from this.
Old 02-18-2018, 11:57 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Alcoholics typically face some consequences as a result of their drinking. I think you are seeing that in your current situation. I will say this, if you quit drinking for any other reason than for yourself, you are at risk of failing sometime down the road. For example, quitting drinking for your significant other is a noble goal, but eventually most of us would relapse or slip up. You have quit for yourself. Wish you the best.
Old 02-18-2018, 12:29 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  
Administrator