Notices

Day 7

Old 11-18-2017, 09:09 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Day 7

Today is my 7th day of sobriety. To say it's been a hard week is an understatement. Honestly I can believe I'm even posting, but like they say write it down, it can't hurt. Well my back story is I've been drinking for at least 10 years, but very heavily over the last few. Last weekend my girlfriend broke uip with me after the way I acted while black out drunk, no excuses but I couldn't remember a thing. This is not a normal thing for me but id drank all day on an empty stomach for veterans day. When I woke up the next morning and heard all about the terrible way I acted, i decided it would be the last time I acted that way. I have been sober since, and 2 days later my dog who I've had 17 years died. Dealing with loss and a flood of emotions without alcohol is a hard foreign thing to me, but I will never feel that way again and the only way is to stay sober. So far the hardest thing is the racing thoughts as I'm pretty anxious in general, but I am thankful to be going in the right direction. A week of 3 losses, my girlfriend, dog and alcohol. The only one that I'm happy about is the alcohol. That's my piece of mind. Much love and thanks for allowing me to post freely.
Old 11-18-2017, 09:49 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Sorry to hear about your losses. In the long run you'll be able to deal with those things better when you're sober – if you were drinking, you wouldn't be dealing with your losses, you'd just be drowning them and numbing yourself. All the best to you.
Old 11-18-2017, 09:53 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by Girlinprogress View Post
... A week of 3 losses, my girlfriend, dog and alcohol.The only one that I'm happy about is the alcohol. That's my piece of mind. Much love and thanks for allowing me to post freely.
It was a week of two losses, not three — you gained sobriety.