Notices

Mortality

Old 10-24-2017, 09:40 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Mortality

So, hi 👋🏼, I just joined.
I'm feeling a bit "crazy" lately--well, *extra* "crazy" compared to my usual-self, and I'm just wondering if anyone had similar feelings around their first 100 days...

This past weekend I became dizzily fixated on facts/concepts which I was already somewhat aware of--FOR EXAMPLE: The fact that I work as a teller in a bank and they train us to be basically be perfect robots, so, eventually they're able to replace us with machines (those fancy atms)... and it felt like I was on the brink of losing my mind, because of this sudden awareness/theory. I found myself attempting to *connect* with every single customer after my 'realization'. I felt humanity much closer to its brink of self-destruction and evil. I talked to my sponsor and my therapist and they've assured me I'm not crazy. But, why do I feel so crazy? Why DID I?

After that day, the next day, I became so fixated on my sudden belief that humanity really is all humanity has (we can only connect, get close to having shared experiences, with OTHER human beings, and nothing else--cars, buildings, fame, every social evolution of progress "matters"), I became SUPER aware of my mortality, and my grandmothers mortality, to the point that I became teary-eyed in the grocery market... and then proceeded to cry while exiting the parking lot.. like.... I've felt such huge shifts in perception that I feel like my mind is going to break. And, honestly this has happened before (huge change of perception that caused a similar "crazy" feeling), so maybe it's not so much to do with sobriety, maybe it's just me...

Honestly, I do find myself identifying more and more with the AA ideologies, and can't help but hope this above is just my "alcoholic brain"

Any comment is much appreciated...
Thanks,
A perfectly normal human being
Old 10-24-2017, 10:25 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
I could see peace instead of this