Husband

Old 10-22-2017, 05:44 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Husband

Hello,
This is my first time here. My husband has been suffering from addiction for years. Mainly alcohol, but definitely has done other things. About 7 years ago I found out he was doing cocaine. When I found out he was overly sorry and swore up and down he stopped and will never do it again. He continued to struggle with alcohol and at times I would think I was going crazy cause he seemed "different." Mean and verbally abusive. I'd ask if he was doing cocaine and he would just act like I was nuts and say, of course I am not.
He has gotten two DUI's and I Feel like I'm constantly paranoid the monster is going to come out. We actually divorced and got back together. We have 4 children together and he promised he hit rock bottom and things would change. I gave him that chance. Soon after we were officially back together the drinking started again. I always suspected cocaine, but he denied it over and over. The other day I went into his wallet to get $ for my son and I found cocaine. I haven't confronted him about it yet. I'm so sick of the excuses and lies, that I don't even want to hear it. What do I do?
Old 10-22-2017, 08:11 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

i cant tell you what to do but i can tell you to trust your gut. his "of course not" is meaningless. of course he is. you found the proof. we know our addicts clean and we know them using. we are all too familiar with the monster. do whats best for your kids and you. he is going to do what hes going to do. the only thing you can control is your response to a situation you didnt create. im so sorry. i know its so painful and confusing. find support and find your stength. my take on confronting is its pointless. they deny even when the proof of the truth is right there and it just ended up making me crazy trying to force an admission that wasnt going to come. i gave mine one last ditch "your family or the drugs." you can guess what he choose.