Notices

Day 1 on and off and on again

Old 05-09-2017, 05:02 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Day 1 on and off and on again

Hi everyone, I'm new to this site. I want to stop drinking alcohol and have gone about a month in the past, in January 2017. The good: I don't drink everyday, never hard alcohol, I drink red wine only, but a full bottle mostly on weekends and maybe a night during the week. 2-4 bottles per week depending.

It used to be more years ago which is good, sort of, but I am having a really hard time giving it up entirely. I definitely feel I have a problem/issue and my worst times are friday and saturday night after work or when I am on vacation and there is no work the next day.

I am studying to be a holistic nutritionist which has been very helpful in getting my body the nutrients it need to feel better when I stop, which I credit with the longer and longer times in between having a glass of wine.

I don't think a program is the answer though some may not agree with that which is ok, and I certainly would welcome all perspectives, I was hoping I could post on this site for support when I am having those terrible cravings. I really do need help, this has been going on for years and I want it to stop.
Old 05-09-2017, 05:05 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Try and develop other things you enjoy when you get the cravings. In time, the cravings will diminish, but most likely will take longer than a month. Good luck!
Old 05-09-2017, 05:29 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thanks FreedomCA, been trying that, it isn't as if I am not busy, with a full time job and attending school it is very busy, but those thoughts really creep in there sometimes when the stress gets high and old habits come to the surface. I am hoping to be able to reach out to this wonderful community so I don't go backward but forward.

Thank you!
Old 05-09-2017, 06:40 AM
  # 4 (permalink)