Why do I feel so guilty?

Old 05-01-2017, 07:46 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Why do I feel so guilty?

Hi,
I've been lurking here for awhile but this is my first time actually writing anything.

Today I actually managed to pull my head up and stop worrying about my stbxaf and work on me. I took care of a bunch of household type stuff, got my truck fixed and new one booked in and started cleaning up the mess he created in my garage. And then, I did the really hard thing I've been working up to and went to my first al anon meeting. I even talked a little bit.

When I left the meeting I felt better than I have in years. And then, it started. I felt so guilty for not thinking about how to help him with the problems he's created since I told him he couldn't be here anymore. I feel guilty for feeling better when he's not getting any better. I feel guilty for cutting him off when I know he needs help. And I feel guilty for feeling guilty.

What new level of hell is this?! I can't shake the guilt. I feel nauseous and don't know why... is it normal to feel like this? How on earth do I stop it? Help!
Old 05-01-2017, 07:56 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi there,

Welcome to the forum.

Congrats on attending your first al anon meeting and making your first post. Those are really big steps.

I felt and continue to feel guilt. I have been told by others that it is very normal.

Others will be along shortly to share their experiences with you. I just wanted to welcome you and tell you that you are not alone.
Old 05-01-2017, 08:11 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
A work in progress

Hi, and welcome,

The way you're feeling right now is temporary. There's nothing you can DO to help him--he has to do that for himself. There are plenty of resources out there--AA, rehabs, etc.--when and if he decides he's had enough.