Why can't I just let go??????

Old 04-29-2017, 05:43 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Why can't I just let go??????

Hi everyone,
I am totally new here but not to alcoholism or addiction. I grew up with a highly functional alcoholic and addicted father who no one would even believe drank so much alcohol behind closed doors. He was also very emotionally(never physically) abusive. Thankfully, my mom was able to leave him when I was 11 but most of the damage had already been done. I still maintain a fairly "close" relationship with him as he lives like 10 minutes from me (not my choice but his).
I have been to many Al-anon, AA, ACOA meetings since the age of 10. My profession is health-related and I directed a health promotions and wellness department years ago, worked in college with health promotions presenting alcohol and drug prevention chats and promoting mental and physical health.