Notices

Can sponsor be family/ friend?

Old 03-06-2017, 07:34 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Can sponsor be family/ friend?

Hi everyone! I am new to sobriety and new here (I hope this thread is in the right place.) I finally broke down a few weeks ago and admitted I had a drinking problem. I have been going to AA, and people have been encouraging me to get a sponsor. I am really new to this so I'm not really sure how it works. My sister in law has been sober a few years and I really admire her recovery. I feel like we have really bonded, and she is my biggest encouragement so far in my sobriety. But I wonder if it would be inappropriate for her to sponsor me? I wouldn't want either of us to be uncomfortable, but I haven't really met too many people. At least not to the point where I'd feel okay asking them. I have social anxiety too so I'm really trying not to let that hold me back. Any advice or opinions would be much appreciated. How did you pick a sponsor and how did you ask them? Thank you so much!
Old 03-06-2017, 09:01 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

My mother is my sponsor, I'm almost 9 months sober. She is 5 years sober, we read together and pray a lot. Hope things will work out for you, best of luck.
Old 03-07-2017, 12:10 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

It would have caused issues for me, because lots of the harms and resentments on my inventories were about family, so it would have put her in a difficult situation.