Notices

New Here

Old 10-07-2016, 07:35 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New Here

Hello,

I am really nervous about this and I don't really know what I am looking for...just someone who understands to listen I guess

I have been drinking more than I should for 12 years, nightly for 8 (except for being pregnant, which means I should be able to quit right?) and it has become more and more every night for the last year or two.

I have started feeling very bad physically in the last few months and my work has been suffering because of lack of morning time concentration and I decided two weeks ago that I wanted to quit.

Alas, although my intentions were great and I was able to manage to cut back some, this week has held a lot of emotional problems and I find myself right back to where I started.

I know that there will always be problems. I know that. But in the entirety of my adult life, problems have always been solved by the cracking open of a bottle.

I have to stop...I want to stop...I hate myself when I am drinking and I honestly don't have the money to continue.

Any words of encouragement would be appreciated, any words of advice (even if they sound harsh) are more than welcome.

I deserve better than this life and so does my family.
Old 10-07-2016, 07:43 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

But in the entirety of my adult life, problems have always been solved by the cracking open of a bottle.

really?
welcome, hpicot.
likely you mean that your way of attempting to solve problems was by drinking...it doesn't work, does it? it just leaves them there, piling up and getting worse...

congratulations on knowing you need to stop and want to stop and on reaching out in spite of being nervous.
doing things in spite of not wanting to is one of the things that is so helpful and necessary for so many of us in our sober road-travelling.

glad you're here, and i hope you stick around.
Old 10-07-2016, 08:13 PM
  # 3 (permalink)