New here, husband possibly has problem

Old 09-21-2016, 12:59 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New here, husband possibly has problem

Hello. This is my first time posting here. I'm hoping to get support and help as I prepare to talk to my husband about his drinking.

We have been together 7 years, and truthfully, his daily drinking has bothered me from the start. But as I saw that he was responsible, didn't miss work, didn't get "drunk," didn't drink and drive, etc. I swept my concerns under the rug.

He drinks two glasses of wine every single day. The only exception is when we are out of state, visiting some relatives of mine who have a zero tolerance policy. He does fine then.

He retired a few years ago, so he is at home every day. I noticed then that he started falling asleep earlier in the evenings than he had when he was working. On weekends, he will start dozing off in the middle of the afternoon. When I come home from work Monday through Friday, he will already have had a glass of wine.

You might be asking, well, why did I wait so long or why am I wanting to speak up now. We're getting older (in our mid-fifties) and I'm worried about the cumulative effects of 14 drinks a week. Also...and I just recently put this together...although he's always been a bit of a hothead, I never connected that to his daily drinking, but I'm starting to wonder.

The truth is that he is very easily offended about lots of things, but especially about his drinking. One time, his mom made what I thought was a completely innocent joke on his Facebook page about his drinking, and I "liked" it. Well, that made him angry. Lots of things make him angry, really. We could be having a lot more arguments but for the fact that I let a lot of things go.

Boy, this is sounding worse the longer I write. Ha ha. Anyway, that's where I'm at.
Old 09-21-2016, 01:37 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
A work in progress