giving and receiving love

Old 09-28-2004, 05:07 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
believer

giving and receiving love

The past couple of months have been interesting, to say the least.

But something happened that has been astounding and overwhelming.

I've been coming here for two years now and have done my best to provide support to those struggling with addiction in their lives. For the most part my life was ok. I went through stuff here and there, but nothing like the stories you read here every day.

Then my world fell apart. But two interesting things happened. One, I started finding the courage to open up and talk about my struggles here. For someone who has always isolated herself and kept everything inside, this was a big change for me.

The second interesting thing is the one that keeps overwhelming me. People keep giving me unconditional love and support - a tremendous amount of it. I'm not used to that. I'm used to being criticized and told to stop being so sensitive and get over stuff.

I've cried a lot of tears in the past three days and 90% of the time the trigger has been a kind word, a hug, a supportive post, or someone reaching out to say, I just wanted you to know I was thinking about you. I'm not used to having a support system. I'm not used to people being here for me. I think most ACOAs can probably relate to what I'm saying, which is why I posted this here.

Sharing here has given me the courage to open up to my family and friends (not my parents yet - LOL) and guess what? They've been just as supportive. It's incredible. All along I've been suffering in silence and I didn't need to. Not only that, receiving so much love is teaching me how to give it to others. I am much more outwardly loving and supportive than I used to be. And it feels good to love and be loved in return.

I just wanted to share that, b/c maybe I'm amazed.
Old 09-28-2004, 05:18 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Maybe I'm amazed too JG.