Notices

Tired of Booze Jokes

Old 03-09-2016, 03:45 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Tired of Booze Jokes

It's not just Facebook that is bombarded with jokes about drinking. Jokes about how it's okay to be an alcoholic. Maybe I'm just being sensitive at just 4 months dry, but they bother me. I don't find them funny.
Here's what I mean. (If it works with the attachment...I'm new at this)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
wine.jpg (40.7 KB, 186 views)
Old 03-09-2016, 03:46 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Obviously I don't know what I'm doing cuz that's REALLY big! lol
Old 03-09-2016, 03:56 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Marchia in Aeternum

You have to remember that most people have no problem with alcohol. If they drink, it's one or two and done. They don't even understand the mindset of the problem. Their curiosity is, "Why would anyone drink like that?"
Old 03-09-2016, 04:17 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I feel like that too sometimes. Alcholism isnt a laughing matter, alas people do not fully understand the nature of the illness unless they have experienced it first hand. Im learning to turn a blind eye to it now, preferring to put my energies into my recovery and helping others x x x
Old 03-09-2016, 04:19 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Btw I too am almost 4 months in x
Old 03-09-2016, 05:19 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

I don't do facebook so don't notice such things. Nor do I notice alcohol in stores or restaurants. I have no interest in it anymore. The longer I was sober, the less interest I had in drinking. It's just a non issue now.
Old 03-09-2016, 05:37 PM
  # 7 (permalink)  

I've found in more sensitive to that stuff in my newsfeed. I've taken to hiding all of the posts in hopes that the smart engine will pick up the pattern doubtful but at least then I don't see them.
Old 03-09-2016, 05:48 PM
  # 8 (permalink)  
Administrator

I doubt those jokes are going to go away anytime soon Lynnmarie - but I'm sorry they upset you.

I've learned to tune them out. I'm not the target audience