Notices

Do You Ever Fully Recover?

Old 10-08-2015, 04:51 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Do You Ever Fully Recover?

I've been working at this sobriety thing for 10 years. And had a relapse this year... My drug of choice(S) Fentanyl with Versed...Other drugs I used were Xanax and Soma...and I enjoyed my wines.

I'm just wondering if a person ever fully recovers? Cause it's been such a long process for me that I'm really starting to wonder if that's even POSSIBLE!
Old 10-08-2015, 05:14 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Canine Welfare Advocate

What do you mean by "Recover"?

I have abused drugs since I was a teenager, and alcohol for over 35 years. My whole live it seems, and I've wondered if I will stuggle with addiction for the rest of my life. But as long as I don't use, I'm fine, the affliction is in remission. I have to stay vigilent. The price of recovery. And worth the struggle.
Old 10-08-2015, 05:16 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I've only been sober for about a year and 1/2, so in given time my view might change.

At my stage now, I don't feel I will ever recover. When I say this I mean "I can't just have an occasional drink" without beginning the nasty cycle all over again.

So with this being said, No....I will never recover so I will remain alcohol free!
Old 10-08-2015, 05:25 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

I prefer 'recovering' because it gives a better sense of the active process I see recovery as... I hope to improve in all kinds of ways until I stop breathing...

but yes I believe Recovery is possible...

I had to move my focus tho - my problem wasn't alcohol or drugs...it was me.

Until I addressed that void in me that I tried to fill with 'stuff', I just bounced from one addiction to another.

Do you feel that applies to you as well, teatreeoil?

D
Old 10-08-2015, 06:30 PM
  # 5 (permalink)