Wondering how to help my sister

Old 10-03-2015, 11:57 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question Wondering how to help my sister

Hi there. This is my first time using a site like this... so I'm hopeful to get some feedback on what to do about my sister... She has been abusing alcohol for a few years, but it has become quite bad lately and she is no longer trying to hide it. She's 35 and has recently moved back in with my parents in the US. She left her job and has an anxiety disorder, which she has been pretty much under control for over a year. I live in Dublin and have no idea how to help... mostly I want to support/help my parents. They are at their wits end. My sister lives with them, drinks openly, and leaves for days at a time without letting them know if she's safe, or even alive. About a month ago, she admitted to them that she needs help and found AA meetings to attend near my parents' house. But a few days ago, she said she never told them she would be giving up alcohol... they don't know what else to do. They've tried being supportive, being firm, tough love, saying she needs to think about moving out... the lot. They are the nicest people on the planet and I am so angry with her for treating them like this and making them so worried all the time. My dad had a bad panic attack because of all this, which landed him in the hospital. My sister ignores all of my calls and messages... even when I try and just write something light or funny, just to get her to write me back. Since I live in a different country, I feel so helpless and removed from the situation.
My parents have said part of them wants her to move out - but they are afraid for her because she's not working and if she does move out, she would not contact them to let them know how things are going.
I would really appreciate some feedback or advice... I feel really alone in this and really ill equipped to deal with it or offer my parents any advice... Thanks.
Old 10-03-2015, 03:31 PM
  # 2 (permalink)