Notices

10 days in, environment, "aging out" of the bar scene

Old 08-15-2015, 10:58 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

10 days in, environment, "aging out" of the bar scene

Hi All,
Just found the forum this morning, glad to be a part of it. I recently relocated back home after living near downtown Cleveland for seven years. I had a lot of anxiety about coming home, but that has proven unnecessary. Without making this intro too long (I've already started writing about my experiences with drugs/alcohol and it quickly turned into 5 pages, barely scratching the surface), I was a drinker and pot smoker for 10 years, since I was a freshman in college, then picked up coke for the first time when I was 30. Did that every day for a little over 4 years, nobody close to me knew about it, even girlfriends I had while I was using. Then I got hooked up with a guy who could get Percocet and Oxycontin and traveled down that road for the last year and half, to two years. I mixed all of those things together fairly regularly and would often throw benzos into the mix as well. I started "aging out" of the bar scene a few years ago but kept doing it because that was the only life I knew how to live after college. I started seeing these guys (and girls) in Cleveland bars who were pushing 50 or older, still getting black-out, falling down drunk and that clicked something in my brain a couple years ago that told me my time in the scene was coming to an end. I was a bartender at a place that pretty much encouraged its staff to drink on the job. Initially, I actually really liked Cleveland but in the last year and a half, I felt like my eyes were opened to the dead-end rut I was stuck in, the people I had made "friends" with, and the abject misery that is living in inner city Cleveland. Rock bottom for me happened in early spring around late April. If you have seasonal depression, don't ever think about living in Cleveland. I was ready to kill myself, I had hit the mental stage of preparing for it,