Notices

Getting back on track.

Old 05-31-2015, 04:50 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Getting back on track.

Hi everyone, this is my first time here. Today is 18 days since i am sober. Prior to this i went one year sober, i was very disappointed with myself for having a "Slip" but i have decided to stop beating up myself and move on. I think i got too complacent and drop my guard, and end up drinking, also i think associating with old friends who drink and visiting places where alcohol is available contributed to me drinking. This time im hoping things will be better. Im looking forward to getting some help here.
Nodyl.
Old 05-31-2015, 05:12 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hey nodyl, welcome!!! when i'm dialed in and committed to my sobriety i have all my guards up and have been (moderately) successful in fighting that battle. My risk like yours is the throwback to the old days with friends and the drinking environment that i used to love so much. Falling victim to social activities that i once loved and now have realized are so detrimental to my life, health,family relations,etc...... "hoping this time will be better" has been a 100% failure for me. Best of luck. Stay strong my friend.
Old 05-31-2015, 05:24 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hi nodyl and welcome to SR! It's a great place and has been an invaluable resource in my quest for sobriety.

I think you're definitely doing the right thing in moving on from the relapse. You cannot undo it, just like you can't undo the year of sobriety that you had. Use some of the skills you learned from that year, as well as lessons from the relapse, and come up with a sober plan that's rock solid.
Old 05-31-2015, 05:32 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Forum Leader