Notices

time to beat it

Old 04-05-2015, 10:27 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

time to beat it

Alcohol has become my crutch and my way to wind down. I'm 31 years old, I drink 3-4 beers a night after my families in bed to "wind down " I've been drinking for ten years and drinking this frequently for 5. I've never lost jobs been in trouble with the law, but i hide it from my family and know that the repercussions to my health are inevitable. I have two young sons that i want to be a positive example for without having this part of me that I'm hiding from everyone, and i want to be around and healthy for them.

My job requires me to fight wildfires in the summer which forces me to go two weeks at a time without booze, and last year i spent the first couple days of each fire dispatch alternately wishing for a drink and fearing that I'd have withdrawal symptoms.

I want to stop being a slave to this. I want to stop feeling like ****. I want to stop fearing for my health. And i NEED to stop lying to my family before it costs me my family.

That's my situation and why I'm here.

Thanks.
Old 04-05-2015, 10:35 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Seattleite, we could be the same person. except you're male and I'm female... and I dont fight fires! Otherwise I could have written your post.(well I almost did in another thread!) Im feeling pretty down tonight. Had an AMAZING easter and then drank tonight. Didn't ruin anything for anyone but myself. Hoping to start fresh tomorrow, but feeling kinda low at the moment. Good luck to you!
Old 04-05-2015, 10:36 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

It sounds like you've made a good decision to stop things before they become worse. And they will become worse, should you continue down the drinking path to a progressively worsening addiction.
Drinking really creates health worries. That constant worry itself is bad for us. Best wishes in putting your health as your family first and putting down the bottle for good. Your life will be much richer and fuller.