Daily thought: Not giving advice

Old 08-10-2004, 06:02 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Dancing To My Own Beat

Daily thought: Not giving advice

In Al-Anon I was taught to share my experience, strength, and hope. When I came in I was an expert at telling others what to do, but I hated for anyone to tell me what to do. I was taught that each person has the right and priviledge to make their own decisions. We are encouraged to learn to take responsibility for our own decisions, actions, and results. People may not do what I think they should. They may make decisions that have consequences that I wouldn't want. But by allowing someone to make their own choices allows them their dignity, helps them to build self esteem and self worth, and helps them to gain maturity.
Telling someone they should leave a relationship is advice. Telling someone that I left a relationship and what the benefits and consequences of that decision were is sharing my experience, strength and hope.
Telling someone to stay in a relationship is advice. Sharing how I gained serenity and happiness while staying in a relationship is sharing my experience, strength and hope.
Telling someone what to say or do in an alcoholic situation is advice. Telling someone what I have done in a similar situation is sharing.
These are just a few examples.
Each of us walks down a path that is uniquely ours. We make decisions that we feel are right for us. There are no cookie cutter answers, no right or wrong ways to live. My decisions may not be right for someone else. I try to encourage my fellow members to make their own decisions, whether they would be right for me or not. I don't judge others by my choices. In this way we can all grow in the way God intends for us to grow. I try to practice this for others because it has been a wonderful gift to me. I have been given the gift of dignity, self esteem and self worth because Al-Anon teaches that we don't give advice. Hugs, Magic
Old 08-10-2004, 01:59 PM
  # 2 (permalink)