Notices

Just joined

Old 08-09-2004, 03:51 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Paused

Just joined

I am brand new and have never done this before (chat, post, reply etc) so I may make some mistakes. Be gentle with me. I am here because I am trying to undo the damage caused by an alcoholic grandfather (killed himself by drinking wood alcohol), an alcoholic father (attempted suicide 3 x to my knowledge) and by a drug-addicted husband from whom I have separated. I am a 48 year old teacher and don't seem to fit into "society" anywhere. Do any of you suffer from feeling isolated & alone, or is that a stupid question?
Old 08-09-2004, 03:57 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
we're all mad here!

Welcome Mercury!

All I can say is for you to go to Family and Friends of Alcoholics (where you can learn about Al Anon) and to the Nar Anon forums!

You'll find lots of great ppl there who can help you out!

There will be ppl coming along any time who can help you more than me. I just wanted to say "welcome".
Old 08-09-2004, 04:00 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hey Mercury,
Welcome to Sober Recovery. Not a stupid question at all. Many people who have loved ones who are addicts or alcoholics feel isolated and alone. Please join us on the Family and Friends board and the Naranon board. There are a lot of people there who understand where you've been and what you're going through.
Glad you found us,
Gabe
Old 08-09-2004, 04:12 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
the girl can't help it

(((((mercury)))))-

Welcome glad you made it here.. It is very common for people involved with alcoholics and addicts to feel isolated. There are alanon and naranon meeting just for us and they really do help. We have lots of good reading hereget comfy and start reading and posting..... take care.
Old 08-09-2004, 04:12 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Welcome Mercury: