Notices

Damn scattered thoughts. Hard to focus.

Old 01-13-2015, 10:58 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Damn scattered thoughts. Hard to focus.

Hi All.

So here i go at yet ANOTHER attempt. I've had months of sobriety before. 2 months once..This last go ALMOST got me to 3.

So i know the good stuff comes. But after my latest setback...I'm 8 days sober again. But i'm finding it hard to focus on work tasks.

I work in IT/Computer support...So the boss expects alot from me. And usually i can handle it quite well.

Today is well..Off. I'm having trouble keeping my tasks in-line. I'm having MASSIVE ANXIETY that the boss will come by to check on me and ask how Task A, B, C are doing?

I find myself counting hours until i can leave. But it ONLY rebuilds the anxiety because i'll be back here tomorrow and i feel like the process will repeat.

I know this will pass. But this is a way for me to process the thoughts/feelings. I went to AA during the lunch hour and it helped to ground me a bit. But i'm back to work now and AGAIN it feels like i can't focus.

Bleh...This is tiresome. NOT going to drink today or tonight though.

I've made that commitment. I've talked to my sponsor about this too.

I'm doing daily AA attendance. That's what i was told to do.

So that's what i'm doing. Still freaked out by this.

I leave control of this problem to AA. Tell me what to do and i'll do it.

Freaked out...
Old 01-13-2015, 11:01 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

just take it one at a time... you can also tell him/her that you are not feeling that well today, so you might be taking a little more time than usual to do this...
Old 01-13-2015, 11:05 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

The mind does go all over the place in the early days...every time. Just focus as best as you can and it will get easier. Since you've been through this before you probably already know that.
Old 01-13-2015, 11:11 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Have you tried meditation, Finding?