Alcoholic Boyfriend

Old 11-06-2014, 01:53 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Alcoholic Boyfriend

My boyfriend and I have been together for about 2-1/2 years. We love each other very much and can't imagine life without the other. However, he is an alcoholic, is unable to not drink for more than a day or two and refuses to go to AA, detox or even see a therapist or counselor. He says he can just quit drinking on his own "starting now."

He had some pretty traumatic things happen to him when he was a child and I think he needs to resolve or work on these issues with a trained professional. He refuses to, he says talking to me about them is good enough. I disagree, I am not a trained professional psychiatrist.

I think this is going to break us up soon. I just haven't been able to get through to him. I know he is still drinking and hiding it from me, which isn't that hard to do because I work 3rd shift and go to school full time in the evenings and he works regular daytime hours (construction).

I'm just feeling so defeated. I don't know what else to do. I would appreciate any suggestions.

Old 11-06-2014, 02:40 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
A work in progress

Hi, Mercani, and welcome!

I don't know whether he needs a therapist or not (and actually, neither do you). He also doesn't necessarily need a trained therapist to stop drinking, if he really wants to do that. Most alcoholics (and I am 6 years sober, myself) do better with some kind of support, if they are to live sober HAPPILY (rather than grimly not-drinking).

The best suggestion I could give you is to find an Al-Anon group nearby. They are specifically for friends and family of alcoholics. They won't help your b/f get sober, but they will help YOU stay sane, whether he decides to choose recovery or not. It was a lifeline for me when I was dealing with the alcoholic in my marriage.

Stick around, you will learn a lot here, too.
Old 11-06-2014, 02:48 PM
  # 3 (permalink)