He doesn't know the negative impacts he's had

Old 09-10-2014, 12:07 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

He doesn't know the negative impacts he's had

Hi all. Newbie here, with a question:

Should my relative, who is currently in treatment for the third time, be made aware of the negative impacts he has had on family and friends? It is unlikely that he is aware of much of what he has caused.

1. His siblings, relatives, and friends wouldn't come to visit because of his drinking.
2. He'd black out and do horrible things like choking people and touching inappropriately.
3. He drove like a maniac, scaring me that he's hit my dog, or worse.
4. I live next door and was so afraid of him that I slept with my bedroom door locked so I would have time to grab my mace before he got through the door.
5. He has guns. (legally)
The list goes on. I hated living next to him.

He trembled. He reeked. He was useless and disgusting. If I didn't see him for a few days, I would sniff at his door. I was afraid that I would smell what I smelled when I found my bro, who drank whiskey all day, every day, dead at the age of 38.

He has been in treatment for several months now, and has not reached out to his siblings or me. We don't think he has a grasp on the impact he has had on us, and that he feels sorry for himself, and is ashamed. He had a good life and wonderful family, but threw it all away. He's intelligent, funny, and a great guy when he's sober.

So. I don't want an apology, just an acknowledgement. We'd sure like it if he would talk to us. Should we let him know how we feel, or will he reach out if/when he's ready?
Old 09-10-2014, 12:13 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR, Neighbor, though sorry for what has brought you here.

I'm both a loved one of addicts/alcoholics (A's) but a recovering addict. I can tell you that I KNEW I was hurting my loved ones, but until I embraced recovery, I didn't really get it.