Notices

Just starting out

Old 07-15-2014, 07:20 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Just starting out

Hey all! I have been to this site on multiple occasions and finally decided to join. I am new to this and am excited to be a part of such a supportive group. It became clear several months ago that I had a problem...can't believe it has taken this long considering all of the damage that alcohol has caused in my life over the last decade or so. It's easy to convince yourself that "partying" is normal when you're in your late teens and early twenties but at 32, drinking 12+ beers by myself, most of the week, with no interest in joining others for drinks, it becomes difficult to convince yourself that you are "partying." I started drinking for popularity in high school, kept drinking for fun (or some twisted perception of fun) in my twenties and now drink to hide, in a sense. Which is weird because I used to be so social. Anyway, after multiple attempts to abstain this year, even for a short period of time, and waking up the next morning ridden with pain and extreme anxiety, it's time to stop. My God, the withdrawals alone are enough to quit!! They seem to get worse every time. Alcohol is like a magnet, before I know it, I am at the liquor store, buying booze wondering "How did I get here?" Thank you guys for listening! And if anyone would like to comment on some of the positive things that lie ahead for someone who is on Day 1, it would be greatly appreciated! You may remember what it's like, sitting at home, withdrawing and feeling like the World is going to end...that's me right now haha.
Old 07-15-2014, 07:39 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome aboard Chris

You'll find a lot of support here - read around and post as much as you like.
Check out the Class of July support thread too:

http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...2014-a-20.html

D
Old 07-15-2014, 07:42 PM
  # 3 (permalink)