21 year old girl needs advice

Old 07-09-2004, 01:17 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Paused

21 year old girl needs advice

:sink Hi. I am new to this, but hopefully I can receive some good advice! I am at my wits end with my mother. When I was 17 years old, my mother and I left my father who had a narcotics addiction and moved in with my grandmother one town over. Since then, my mother has started drinking heavily. To top it off, she has rheumatoid arthritis and lupus so she takes about 10 medications a day. The combination of the drinking with the meds turns my mother into a different person. She acts like a child, giggling and talking to herself, and she never remembers anything the next day. We fight constantly because I get annoyed having to play the "parent" to her. The past year, her drinking has gotten worse, and we have even had to call an ambulance to take her to get her stomach pumped after she "OD'd" on the combination of alcohol and pills. She promised me she would stop drinking after that, but never held out. Since I am in graduate school, I am still living with her, my grandmother, and my brother (also an alcoholic), yet I am the only one who seems to see the problem here. They all acknowledge the fact that she drinks too much, but they do not feel an intervention is needed. My mother doesn't think she has a drinking problem since she will only have about 3 drinks a day, but she doesn't realize the effects drinking while taking her medication causes. Not only is it embarassing to me to have a mother who behaves this way, but she has also really let herself go in the past year, gaining about 40 pounds. All this makes me so mad because when she is sober, she is the sweetest, most caring woman in the world, and we get along great. Please help me help her. I will do anything, I just don't know how to go about it!

Thanks so much,
Danielle
Old 07-09-2004, 03:21 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Ann
Nature Girl

Danielle