Notices

Sober. But now addicted to other substance

Old 05-14-2014, 03:17 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Sober. But now addicted to other substance

16th day sober, hooray for that

But, I have been eating painkillers almost daily, 4 times per day (recommended limit)
They contain codeine (very mild morphine effect)
Makes me feel relaxed and good

I thought "hey, its better than drinking, its' ok for now, one thing at a time"
But now I see, that I have to be careful with this too. Have read that they are addictive and many people find it hard to stop once they are hooked
Hm.. why do I need substances, or think I do?
Old 05-14-2014, 03:25 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Sober since October

Location: In the world in my eyes...Somewhere I've never been before...
Hi, Makrellen.

I have no personal experience with painkillers, but IMHO substance is just an expression of addiction. Changing for substance for another, even milder, won't solve the problem.

Recovery needs some "deeper digging" - facing your fears, underlying wounds, rediscovering yourself, fighting boredom, and, again, being your own hero and saving your own world.

Scary as it may sound it's pretty awesome as well.

Maybe, some addiction like jogging, or other form of workouts, would serve you better on this journey?

Best wishes to you.
Old 05-14-2014, 03:38 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
A Day at a Time

You may not be drinking but you are not sober. Get of the pills while you still can
Old 05-14-2014, 04:01 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

If you do a search for codeine here @ SR, Mak, you'll find the withdrawal, as with any opiate, is not particularly pleasant.

The sooner you quit, the more chance you have of not having a bad withdrawal.

On a deeper level, why do you think you're looking for a good feeling from an external source?

D

Last edited by Dee74; 05-14-2014 at 04:17 AM.
Old 05-14-2014, 04:11 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Canine Welfare Advocate

Originally Posted by Makrellen View Post