Notices

Quitting smoking while early into sobriety?

Old 05-04-2014, 08:55 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Quitting smoking while early into sobriety?

Just a question for those who tried both at the same time. I will quit smoking too but found right now it is helping me not drink. I smoke about half a pack a day.

Any advice?
Old 05-04-2014, 08:59 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
☀️⛳️

Originally Posted by Timmah View Post
Just a question for those who tried both at the same time. I will quit smoking too but found right now it is helping me not drink. I smoke about half a pack a day.

Any advice?
Hi, I don't smoke so I have no personal experience with regards to quitting both, but I did read on SR that it is recommended to not quit both at the same time. Not sure if that's entirely correct maybe someone with more knowledge can help.
Wish you well.
Old 05-04-2014, 09:37 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Some have done it like Dee for example.

My take on this is that if you feel up to the challenge go for it, but if it jeopardizes your sobriety you might want to wait until your legs are stronger
Old 05-04-2014, 03:24 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

I usually smoked when I drank, so it made sense to me to quit both at once.

D
Old 05-04-2014, 03:38 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

I'm only 13 days sober, but I HAD to quit smoking if I was going to be sober. I didn't smoke everyday but if I did I knew I would want a beer later.

If I didn't know that was a huge trigger for me I probably would have quit alcohol first and then smoking a bit later.
Old 05-04-2014, 04:14 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  
pray for strength

I'm chewing the gum.

Blah! Addiction sucks.

We are in similar nicotine boats.

Nicotine is next on the list for me. I'll need to work a little harder on this now that I think about it.

I adore Gauloises Blondes so much that, no matter how hard I tried, no less than 1-pack a day would suffice. Add-on any stress, excuse, party (everywhere) and the 1 turned into 2 packs.